Miscellaneous

Tomorrow is a Latter Day

keep-calm-tomorrow-is-a-latter-day

The title of this post comes from the musical, The Book of Mormon.  I have watched the production numerous times and it makes me laugh every single time.  It never gets old!  If you have not watched it yet, I highly recommend it.

One of the songs in the musical is called “Tomorrow is a Latter Day” and I find it highly fitting as yesterday was not one of my best days.  I had an appointment after work, which got cancelled last-minute and for no good reason.  I was super irritated not only at the lack of professionalism, but because I had already made arrangements to make this appointment and even confirmed the day prior.  I do not like it when people do not respect my time.  My actual workday, I would say, was pretty uneventful.  Then, due to the change in plans, I decided to take my family out to dinner.  It was also National Margarita Day and I wanted to celebrate that as it is my favorite alcoholic beverage and everyone knows it!  It was raining very hard yesterday and we ended up getting stuck in traffic for hours.  People cannot drive in the rain, I swear.  Because no one had eaten, we all ended up becoming “hangry” and irritable, getting in a fight with each other in the vehicle while stuck in traffic.  We also kept trying different roads in hopes of finding a faster route, only to get stuck in traffic again, adding to the irritation.  There were a total of 4 accidents on the same road.  Then, we almost got into a really bad car accident ourselves due to another car not having their headlights on.  That really blew the fuse and was the last straw for everyone.  Instead of enjoying margaritas, we ended up at a Denny’s.  As soon as we were seated, I gave my son a big hug.  I could not wait for the day to be over.

In general, the past couple of months have not been the greatest for me.  I have suffered with bouts of sadness, depression, and despair – feelings I have not felt in a very long time.

As I type this post at 3:47 a.m. because I am having trouble sleeping tonight, I am grateful for tomorrow and look forward to hopefully a brighter day.

The skies are clear and now the sun’s coming out
It’s a latter day tomorrow!
Put your worries and your sorrows and your cares away
And focus on the latter day!
Tomorrow is a latter day!

(“Tomorrow is a Latter Day” from The Book of Mormon)

Leave a Reply

